eBook Pixel Logic

I’ve just purchased Pixel Logic, an eBook by Michael Azzi «Michafrar»:

The book is in PDF format, with over 200 pages, excellently designed.

I’m very satisfied with the purchase, the book is a real learning treasure box, with organized tutorials and full of great pixel art images from various authors. I wonder how I missed out this book so far in my searches for tutorials; I wish I had found it before.

Needlsess to say, I strongly advise Pixel Logic to anyone interested in the topic! The price is very reasonable and the book is actively being updated. A free preview is also available:

Looks interesting and I’m curious about it. Is it more geared towards complete beginners or do you think it is also good for intermediate pixel artists?

Is it more geared towards complete beginners or do you think it is also good for intermediate pixel artists?

Overall, I would say that it’s a book targeting complete newbies, but also guiding them through to the intermediate level. But the last chapter (about finish up work) is quite advanced stuff, and it has been announced a new chapter on finish-up work due December/January.

Having said, that, keep in mind that the author is a well established professional of Pixel Graphics, and that many articles are written by other professionals, each having consented to include original images from their published works (and some exclusive images that never went into final games), as well as their paper sketches and pixel art drafts.

So, even the simplest lesson takes on a whole different light when it comes from someone who has mastered the art and made a carreer out of it. When you read the individual advises and techniques from this authors you have the certainty that they know what they are talking about, and often you’ll find small details that make the difference even in matters which are for beginners.