Question About Creating Color Ramps

Hi! I am new to Pro Motion NG and this is my first post to these forums.

My question is:
Does creating color ramps still function the same in the latest version of Pro Motion NG (8.0.2.1), as described in this tutorial video?

I cannot, for the life of me, get this feature to work. I first go into either “Edit RGB Color” or “Edit HSL Color”, then I Left-Click the first color, press R, and then Left-Click the second color. The only thing that happens is the software goes into the “Create Box/Rectangle” Tool but does not ramp the colors. I also did try to go both horizontally and vertically in the palette, but neither works.

I did go into the Keyboard Settings and validated that R is the shortcut for “Ramp RGB” and Shift+R is for “Ramp HSB”… I also tried to map R to the “Quick Ramp” but I just cannot get this function to work, no matter what I try.

Can someone explain to me what I am doing wrong, please? Thank you!

Hi @Zeralith,

this sounds like a bug, but I can’t duplicate it so far. This should work exactly as with V7.
What OS are you using?

Are you familiar with “regedit”? It’s a Windows tool to access registry settings. The registry is used to store app settings etc. .
I’d like you to start “regedit” and then export these settings:

Just right click on the “Pro Motion 8” folder and use the export function. Please send the resulting reg-file to jan@cosmigo.com

-Jan

Hi Jan,

I am using Windows 11 Professional Version 22H2 (OS Build 22621.1344) and I just emailed you my Windows registry export that you requested.

Also, here is a video I took of me attempting to ramp the colors (I forgot I had to use “Embed Windows” in Preferences → Compatibility, for my recording software to caputre the video, so the pop-up windows do not appear in the video… but below is also a screenshot of my settings for the R key, which I also tried to set to “Quick Ramp” as well):

Thank you!

Hi @Zeralith,

well, there are different problems.